Tuesday, 24 March 2015

Harrison George unpaid invoice Wakefield and District Housing

Harrison George unpaid invoice Wakefield and District Housing harrisongeorge@wdh.co.uk emails with an attached word document containing a macro.

These emails aren't from these companies at all , they are just being used to make the email look more genuine, ie. from a real company.
It's also worth remembering that the company itself  may not have any knowledge of this email and it's link(s) or attachment as it won't have come from their servers and IT systems but from an external bot net.

It's not advised to ring them as there won't really be anything they can do to help you.

Message Header::
From: Harrison George
Subject: Re: unpaid invoice # CMGOBMK870CMGOBMK317 from January
Message Body:
Good Day accounts@
Here you will find the proforma attached https://wdh.co.uk/user?target=F0C.
Please effect immediate payment for the unpaid invoices # CMGOBMK870CMGOBMK317 as you already have a 23,876.02 eur debt for January.
All info is included in the proforma.

Regards, Harrison George

Operations Department
Wakefield and District Housing Merefield House, Whistler Drive, Castleford WF10 5HX, United Kingdom
Direct Phone: +44 345 850 7507
Personal E-Mail: harrisongeorge@wdh.co.uk
Please send your replies to our company´s email : mms@wdh.co.uk

Sha256 Hashes:
 4c8a8e5b785534584e6b34bbad989b987f9ca1e775d5fcc8542b637be7a57647 [1]
Malware Virus Scanner Reports:
VirusTotal Report: [1] (Detection Ratio: 2/57)
Malwr Report [1]


The current round of Word/Excel/XML attachments are targeted at Windows users.

Apple and Android software can open these attachments and may even manage to run the macro embedded inside the attachment.

The auto-download file is normally a windows executable and so will not currently run on  any operating system, apart from Windows.

However, if you are an Apple/Android user and forward the message to a Windows user, you will them put them at risk of opening the attachment and auto-downloading the malware.



Abe said...

Had the very same email today, at first glance I thought it said George Harrison - the former beatle lol.

Anonymous said...

Have received same email yesterday Monday but have only just looked at it.
Fortunately it went straight in spam and I delete most things straight away.
It was only when I started to read this email I realised they were using a genuine address phone number etc when you take another look at the amount supposed owing is in euros and a UK phone number starting in 44

I just hope people from Castleford read this advice.

Many thanks for posting this it's been a big help.

Morag Little said...

I got the same email today and just blokes it as spam and deleted it. Morag from cumbria